To Bartow County Christians…

If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with all men.” Romans 12:18

Over the years, I’ve shared a lot on social media. I recently surpassed the 300 mark on my Christian Commute podcast. This particular blog site has 134 posts, not counting what I’ve written at Pulpit & Pen. Much of my posted writings are recycled seminary assignments – book reviews and academic papers. I have an on-going apologetics series. Such things aren’t controversial…but things most Christians agree upon and accept rarely are. A lot of my posts are very critical. This is so because I have many concerns.

I’m concerned about the direction of the Southern Baptist Convention, especially with regard to financial stewardship. I’m concerned about the growing influence of mega-churches, especially multi-site ones. I’m concerned about the products being marketed by the Christian media industry. I’m concerned about the direction of Christian music. I’m concerned about the biblical literacy of pew-sitting Christians. I’m concerned about the growing influence of Pentecostalism, in our county and beyond. I’m concerned about the state of women’s ministry. I’m concerned about the activities of the New Apostolic Reformation. I’m concerned about ecumenism. I’m concerned about holiness. I’m concerned about doctrinal fidelity.

In the course of sharing my concerns about these matters, I’ve ruffled some feathers, especially here at home. Not only do I write about general issues but I write about specific people. I name names. This really goes against the grain of evangelical culture. While I see myself kind of like this guy:

I think others may see me like this:

Some of the people about which I have written may be your friends and family members. They might even be you. One of my earliest blogs featured the following statement, one which I always try to keep in mind when I’m writing about another person:

…the actions we take affect our families. Our actions can affect our spouses even before we meet them. Our actions can affect our children even before they are born. What we say and do matters. Furthermore, what we say and do to others affects them. We never know what someone else could be going through when we talk to them. When we interact with someone, we need to remember that he is someone’s child and a human person created in the image of God. We shouldn’t pick on people, lie to them, or blame them unjustly.”

I’ve been told that a lot of my message gets lost in my delivery, which could certainly use improvement. I can’t really say how many people I “win” versus how many people I “lose”. Feedback is mixed. Positive feedback is usually delivered to me by an appreciative party. Negative feedback may be delivered to someone else or not at all.

I’m not trying to offend anyone but if I’ve offended you, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me. I won’t know that you’re offended unless you tell me. Despite appearances, I’m a very approachable person. Forthrightly, I just want to help. We may not agree. Most likely, I’m going to stand by my positions if we talk but let’s at least try to understand each other. I’m not saying that your obligated to reach out to me but I do think doing so could be for the better.

Iron sharpens iron,
So one man sharpens another.”
Proverbs 27:17

Over the years, blogging and podcasting has given me the chance to share a lot of stories and have a lot of stories shared with me. I’ve appreciated the actions taken by everyone who has reached out to me for discussion. Now, that I’ve had child number four and taken on preparing a weekly Sunday School lesson, I find myself with less time to write. I’m almost done with seminary but writing assignments for school almost always take precedence over blogs. Be assured that when I do take the time to put something out that I’m doing it because I believe that it’s very important.

Whatever it is, I want it to be God-honoring. I love Jesus. I want Christians to draw closer to him and I want lost people to come to know him.

God is on his throne. Whatever happens, it’s going to work out well for His church. Like I said, I’m concerned…but I’m not worried. If you’re standing on the promises of Christ, our savior, you don’t need to be either. If you’re reading this and you don’t know the Lord Jesus, give me the chance to tell you about Him. If you’re reading this and you do know the Lord Jesus, maybe we can tell someone about him together.

*Please note that the preceding is my personal opinion. It is not necessarily the opinion of any entity by which I am employed, any church at which I am a member, any church which I attend, or the educational institution at which I am enrolled. Any copyrighted material displayed or referenced is done under the doctrine of fair use.

Leave a comment