Seth Dunn’s SBC Presidential Platform

Below you will find a series of short videos detailing what can be described as a “Simple SBC” plan for my potential Southern Baptist Convention presidency.  In short, I want to streamline our convention by eliminating the ERLC, LifeWay, & NAMB, increase support for international missions, review our educational needs, and reexamine cooperative giving methods.  I hope you’ll take the time to watch these short videos.  I don’t have a video studio, media staff, or celebrity friends to cameo like some of the other candidates but I hope you find my ideas sound and reasonable.  I welcome you to utilize the comment section to provide feedback.  Please vote #Dunn2016 at the Southern Baptist Convention in St. Louis.  Please pray that God would grant me the wisdom to lead and speak to these issues with grace, humility, and love.

It’s Not “My Turn” – Going Outside the Oligarchy

I’m Not Here to “Vision-Cast”

An Independent and Objective Southern Baptist

Respect for Baptist Ecclesiology 

“Thinking about formulas, what we’ve done. I’m 71 today, y’all know that? 71…and in the 50 years, I’ve been in the ministry…I’ve watched formulas, formulas of man’s opinion of how to do church. If you do this, this, this, this and this, you’re going to be big, big, and bigger…and I’m telling you, it’s like a virus! And it’s everywhere! And you know what, it sells. Publishers are grabbing these things and they’re heralding these mega-churches wherever they are and they’re heralding mega-preachers who’ve become gods and their selling their stuff and here’s the problem…people are buying it like you wouldn’t believe. They’re sucked right into a message that says, ‘You can build God’s church!’ when Jesus himself said, ‘I will build my church.’ Man’s creativity, God does not need. He’s needs man’s willingness to surrender to him.” Wayne Barber, preaching to the congregation of Woodland Park Baptist Church July 27th, 2014

Eliminating the ERLC

LifeWay Needs to Go

The True Home Mission Board is the Local Church

Reviewing Educational Needs

For my in-depth analysis of the wisdom of the Cooperative Program, please see my short treatment entitled The Cooperative Program and the Road to Serfdom (a 2nd Edition is currently in the works).

To see how my viewpoints match up with those of the other candidate, please review my candidate Q&A.

See my responses to “queries worth consideration” here.

For more about who I am and my take on the issues, see my initial SBC Presidential Candidate statement.

Please consider helping fund my travel costs from Georgia to the Southern Baptist Convention in St. Louis, Missouri.  As a layman from a small church, I do not have any budget for travel to the Southern Baptist Convention.

For those of you seeking revival, please consider listening to the sermon below.  It gives a somber reminder that our convention, while strong, is not all that it should be.

I have a passion for Christian apologetics. While you are at my website, please browse around and review the work I’ve done in this area.

*Please note that the preceding is my personal opinion. It is not necessarily the opinion of any entity by which I am employed, any church at which I am a member, any church which I attend, or the educational institution at which I am enrolled. Any copyrighted material displayed or referenced is done under the doctrine of fair use.

1 thought on “Seth Dunn’s SBC Presidential Platform

Leave a comment