Pulpit Committee Q & A – Part 4

When their pastoral offices becomes vacant, many Baptist churches form what is know as a “pulpit is committee”. A pulpit committee typically consists of several church members whom the body has tasked with seeking, interviewing, and recommending pastoral candidates. Have you ever wondered what kinds of questions these churches ask pastoral candidates? How do you think potential pastors should answer these questions? In this on-going series, I will provide actual inquiries from a questionnaire sent to me by the pulpit committee of a Southern Baptist Church, along with my answers. Each part of this series will examine a different question and answer from the church’s questionnaire. Feel free to interact in the comment section with your own opinions of how the questions should have been asked and answered.

(Note: The identity and location of the church has been replaced with generic terms).

Question:

How would you describe your leadership style?

Answer:
I have a direct style. I believe church members should covenant together to let God’s word be their guide. With that as the basis for decision making, the body should be able to democratically decide on the best direction for the church. It can be very dangerous to the health of a body when a pastor becomes autocratic and dictatorial. Proverbs 15:22 says, “Without consultation, plans are frustrated, But with many counselors they succeed.” I’ve learned as I’ve grown older that it’s important to 1) Consider the impact of my words, 2) Listen to the ideas of others, 3) Give other people time to process an initiative before moving ahead. All that being said, I will not compromise on the Bible for pragmatic purposes or to get others to agree with me.

*Please note that the preceding is my personal opinion. It is not necessarily the opinion of any entity by which I am employed, any church at which I am a member, any church which I attend, or the educational institution at which I am enrolled. Any copyrighted material displayed or referenced is done under the doctrine of fair use

Leave a comment